Album Review: Diorama – Even the Devil Doesn’t Care

Album Review: Diorama – Even the Devil Doesn’t Care


Diorama have returned with their eighth studio album Even the Devil Doesn’t Care and it promises to be another masterpiece of complex melody and driving percussion. Diorama’s particularly beautiful and unique methods of blending electronics and conventional instruments is showcased to great effect here, the overall effect for the first few listens being completely overwhelming. Weighing in at a dozen tracks the album is gorgeous and unrelenting from beginning to end, one track flows into another twisting this way and that leaving the listener wondering what to describe their music as. At times, it is a storm of guitars and percussion giving a definite rock feel and just as suddenly the songs have shifted gears on you into a club monster filled with synths or a piano ballad stripped bare, all of it tied togewther with Torben Wendt’s haunting vocals.

Because of this almost manic pacing it is almost impossible to pick any single songs as highlights to the album, it’s more of an experience from beginning to end. Unlike many bands that have a certain niche there is nothing you can expect from Diorama other than quality. Because of this, I find this to be one of the most appriately named bands I have had the pleasure of listening to over the years. If I had to pick highlights, My Justice for All, When We Meet Again in Hell, The Expatriate, and Hope come to mind. The Scale is the obvious single from the album and is fantastic but I don’t feel it represents the album’s vision as well as other tracks might.

For those of you unfamiliar with Diorama I must warn you it is an aquired taste, their music demands a love of many different styles of music as they are not afraid to try something new from track to to track or even from verse to verse. For the uninitiated I would recommend listening to their album A Different Life as an introduction followed by Amaroid and then possibly Cubed in combination with this album. Diorama is not for those with a casual ear, the nuances and progressions are not simple and require a good deal of listening to enjoy thoroughly. For example, I hae had this album for a few months now and am just now writing a review for it because it’s secrets aren’t immediately available.

Track Listing

01 maison du tigre
02 hope
03 the scale
04 my favourite song
05 the expatriate
06 summit
07 weiß und anthrazit
08 when we meet again in hell
09 the long way home from the party
10 hellogoodbye
11 my justice for all
12 over